A National Collective for Survivors of Violence Against Women

Privacy

 
Facebook Twitter

We understand that there may be safety issues for some women wanting to participate in The Backbone Collective. The safety of women and their children is paramount to us.  We have done our best to provide a safe online system, but we understand if you decide against participating for reasons of safety.  If you don't feel safe using your own computer or email, we hope you might be able to use that of a trusted person.

Please email info@backbone.org.nz if you have any questions or would like to raise any concerns.  

When you visit The Backbone Collective website

If you need to exit The Backbone Collective website quickly, please click or tap on the QUICK EXIT button in the top right of each page. Your browser will send you to the website stuff.co.nz, which will open in a new tab.  Meanwhile the backbone.org.nz URL will be replaced, in the original tab, with google.co.nz.  The URL backbone.org.nz will still show in your browser history however, so please follow instructions below on how to hide your visit to The Backbone Collective website.

The Backbone Collective website has a SSL Certificate

Secure Sockets Layer, or SSL, is a technology that secures the connection between your browser and the website you’re visiting. To verify that SSL is protecting a page, you look for a URL beginning with https://, instead of http://, and a closed padlock icon. This allows you to navigate the website and submit information through a secure connection.

SSL provides three important security benefits:

  • Privacy: Encrypts the connection between the browser and web server and securely transmits information (like contact details) to prevent unauthorised parties from eavesdropping
  • Data integrity: Prevents unauthorised parties from altering data during transmission
  • Authentication: Protects against impersonation by requiring web server proof of identity

How to hide your visit to The Backbone Collective website

GOING INCOGNITO - PRIVATE BROWSING

You can change settings on your web browser to stop others who use the same computer viewing your web history, downloads, autofill, and dialogue box information.

Incognito mode or private browsing only prevents the browser from storing browsing information locally.  It does not make you anonymous online or prevent your employer or internet service provider from seeing which sites you've visited.

See how to go incognito on web browsers via computers or mobile phone here  The link takes you through the steps using screenshots.

Covering your tracks

Internet Explorer

Pull down Tools menu, select Internet Options. On General page, under Temporary Internet Files , click on "Delete Files". Under History click on "Clear History."

Chrome

Select the Customise and control icon in Chrome, found on the right hand side of the address bar, represented as three thick lines. Select "Settings" from the drop-down list. Click on "Advanced settings" at the bottom of the new window that opens up. Under the "Privacy" heading click on the "Clear browsing data..." button and then select from the check boxes all that you wish to clear. Click the "Clear browsing data" button to clear your selections.

Firefox

Select Tools from the top menu and then Clear Recent History... from the drop-down list. Check what you would like cleared, taking care to check Browsing & Download history.

Safari

Click the Settings button in the upper-right corner of the browser window. Select Reset Safari… from the drop-down list. From here you can clear, delete or reset much of the information that Safari automatically stores. Click your cursor in the box only next to the items in the menu you want to delete, clear or reset. Click the Reset button when you’re finished.

Opera

The fastest way to clear the history of your website visits in the browser Opera is to select Tools from the top menu, and then Delete Private Data… from the drop-down list. Make sure that the four Clear History entries are selected, and then click Delete.

Apple iPhones and tablets

Go to Settings on your device, tap General, tap Usage, tap Manage Storage, scroll to find Safari.  Tap Safari, tap Website Data, tap Show All Sites, tap Edit, find backbone.org.nz in the list  and tap and then tap to Delete.

Android phones and tablets

Go to Settings on your device and tap Applications to select the browser that you're using e.g. Chrome.  Then tap Privacy, tap Delete Personal Data and select which data you'd like to delete e.g. browsing history, site data.   

When you give feedback to The Backbone Collective

All information you provide via our online surveys will be completely confidential and combined with the views of all those who respond. We will not ask you for any information that could identify you personally, and all information collected will be stored on secure servers hosted by our survey software provider. Collating, reading, and reviewing the survey responses will be conducted in-house by staff at The Backbone Collective office and your information will not be shared with third parties under any circumstances.  

If you choose to give contact details and/or feedback via our contact form or by direct email to the info@backbone.org.nz email, we will treat that information with the utmost confidentiality and not share any details that could identify you with any third parties.